Word Nerd Wednesday

Word Nerd Wednesday: Librocubicularist

When I was coming up with a name for this blog, I researched bookish words. I didn’t expect to find as many words as I did. I was very close to using “librocubicularist” as a name, but I think there’s already a blog out there with a similar name. Moreover, it’s a bit of a tongue twister (not that tsundokuholic flows off the tongue easily, but it’s slightly easier). However, I am definitely a librocubicularist and I don’t think I’ll ever change.

librocubicularist

Christopher Morley first used the word in 1921 in Haunted Bookshop. It is pasted together from the Latin words for book (liber) and bedroom (cubiculum). If you like to read in bed, welcome to librocubicularist club.

Really, what better place is there to read than bed? You’re in a super comfortable place full of squishy pillows and blankets, you can easily adjust your back support, you can sit with your back straight or recline…the possibilities are endless!

tumblr_m91ver35hn1rrjkg1o1_500

I can never seem to get comfortable reading in a chair, on a couch, outside, or anywhere that’s not my bed. I mean, I can deal with it but it’s not ideal. As I mentioned in my first post, I grew up always reading before going to bed. I would climb up into the top bunk of my bunk bed, turn on my bed lamp, and read from 7:30-8:00 during my elementary school years. If I were getting into the story, I’d sometimes ask my mom for an 8:30 extension. It was the perfect way to wind down.

I tried getting back into that routine in college but it could be annoying trying to wind down with lights fully on, having to get in and out of bed to turn them off, and yes I am a lazy lump. Stop judging me. Then I got my Kindle Fire. It was life changing. I could turn off my lights, get into bed, and read a few pages or chapters until I passed out. There have been more than a few times where I’ve dropped my Kindle on my face as I’ve passed out mid-sentence. No regrets.

I wasn't this cute, though.
I wasn’t this cute, though.

Last year when I was teaching full-time, I had a rough first few months. It’s stressful getting used to a new job its responsibilities. On top of that, I was so busy I didn’t pick up a book for a few months. I finally decided I had to read before bed again, even if it was only a page. It didn’t cure all of my anxieties but it helped more than I could have imagined. The act of bedtime reading is so embedded in me that it soothed and relaxed my frazzled nerves. That little return to normalcy was just the comfort I needed. Bed will always be the first place I choose for book reading.

Is there a place you think is even better suited to reading? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

