Thirsty Thursday

Thirsty Thursday: British Sweets

A candy wrapper plays a pivotal role in The Widow by Fiona Barton, which I recently reviewed, so this Thirsty Thursday focuses on British sweets, and one traditional British drink. I am lucky enough to live by a market that keeps a great stock of British sweets so I have tried my fair share of chocolates and gummies and cakes. Cadbury chocolate knocks Hershey out of the park, and the British have fruity sweets with no real American equivalent. Without further ado, here are some of my favorites.

British Sweets

Crunchie: I had this once as a child and for years I yearned for another taste. I couldn’t remember the name of the candy, and didn’t know any stores that carried it. Thank the Google gods for leading me to the answer I spent fifteen years searching for. It’s a crunchy honey-toffee center covered in creamy Cadbury chocolate. It’s a unique chocolate bar, both in flavor and texture, and I can’t get enough of it.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B000EG6G9E&asins=B000EG6G9E&linkId=TZ2QCFW63Y2B5Z66&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Mint Aero: Aero bars are aerated chocolate coated in more chocolate. The mint version has a green, aerated, minty white chocolate center coated in milk chocolate. The bar breaks apart into smaller bars and the aeration makes them melt smoothly in your mouth. I may like these better than York Peppermint Patties.
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B0007P0YT0&asins=B0007P0YT0&linkId=IKL5H7CM6VWTZ5ML&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Bounty: This is basically a Mounds bar.  I love Mounds, so I love Bounty.
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B000JSLYV2&asins=B000JSLYV2&linkId=DEFFJFVEA675NAUV&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true
Cadbury Dairy Milk Turkish Delight: If you don’t already know, Turkish delight is gel-based sweet, usually rose-flavored. It’s definitely not for everyone, but I love it. I’ve always loved roses because I’m basic, and I really love the flavor of roses, too. In this case, it’s chocolate-coated Turkish delight. I ordered a bar over the summer, which was stupid because the chocolate got all melty and conformed to the wrapper, but it was DELICIOUS. This was the only bar of chocolate I ever had to order direct from the UK. I HAD to try it and it was worth it.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B009GPVJGE&asins=B009GPVJGE&linkId=GTK7NCWIWLRMZNKE&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true
Rowntree Fruit Pastilles: These sugarcoated pastilles are chewy, gummy, sweet, and taste NOTHING like American gummies. If I remember correctly, they use natural dyes from fruits and vegetables and use currant juice for flavoring. They’ll make your mouth water.
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B00472JIDM&asins=B00472JIDM&linkId=CMDXFOMTFB5OX7RU&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true
Rowntree Tooty Frooties: These fruit chews are similar to Starburst, but smaller and covered in a hard candy shell. Kind of like the child of a Starburst and a Skittle in the shape of a Chiclet.
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=tsundokuholic-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B00MULPO94&asins=B00MULPO94&linkId=2C74WEMM6SYUOHPF&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Sweet Sips

Before I go, I give you my promised drink recipe, the Pimm’s Cup. Pimm’s is a gin-based liqueur flavored with herbs and spices. To make a Pimm’s Cup, you…

  • Fill a cup with ice.
  • Add 2 ounces Pimms.
  • Top off with lemonade, Sprite, or ginger ale.
  • Garnish with a cucumber spear and lemon wedge.

That’s it! Super-easy and super-refreshing. It is the go-to drink at Wimbledon and is punch-pitcher friendly. I made a Game of Thrones-themed take on the Pimm’s Cup, but I will save it for a future post.

What are YOUR favorite British sweets? What do I absolutely NEED to try? Tell me in the comments!

Also, a very Merry Christmas Eve to all celebrating!

Leave a Reply

