2016 POPSUGAR Challenge

POPSUGAR 2016 Reading Challenge

Happy Reading Challenge 2016!!

Happy 2016 all! Hope you welcomed in the New Year with happiness and cheer ūüôā With a new year come new goals and challenges. I’m going to set my Goodreads Challenge goal to seventy-five books for this year. The last time I set my goal that high I regretted it, but I think I can surpass that goal this year, or be driven mildly insane by the stress I will inevitably place on myself.

hermione_stressed

I also found this¬†POPSUGAR Reading Challenge¬†on¬†Tumblr¬†and thought it looked cool! Here’s the challenge and the books I’ve chosen for each category. I reserve the right to change my book choice at any time because I don’t like putting myself in a corner. You can bet your bottom dollar I’m going to be using the same books in multiple categories because I’m sure there will be books that don’t fall into ANY of these categories that I will want to read, and I really hate putting off things I REALLY want to read in favor of completing a challenge. Without further ado…

The List

  1. A Book Based on a Fairy Tale: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  2. A National Book Award Winner: Challenger Deep by Neil Shusterman
  3. A YA Bestseller: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  4. A Book You Haven’t Read Since High School: ¬†Pirates! by Celia Rees
  5. A Book Set in Your Home State: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty
  6. A Book Translated Into English: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  7. A Romance Set in the Future: Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart
  8. A Book Set in Europe: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  9. A Book That’s Under 150 Pages:¬†Pop Sonnets: Shakespearean Spins on Your Favorite Songs by Erik Didriksen
  10. A New York Times Bestseller: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  11. A Book That’s Becoming a Movie This Year:¬†The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  12. A Book Recommended By Someone You Just Met: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  13. A Self-Improvement Book: What Color Is Your Parachute by Richard N. Bolles
  14. A Book You Can Finish in a Day: Pop Sonnets: Shakespearean Spins on Your Favorite Songs by Erik Didriksen
  15. A Book Written By A Celebrity: Binge by Tyler Oakley
  16. A Political Memoir: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
  17. A Book At Least 100 Years Older Than You: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  18. A Book That’s More Than 600 Pages:¬†Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  19. A Book From Oprah’s Book Club:¬†Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (listen…)
  20. A Science-Fiction Novel: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  21. A Book Recommended By A Family Member: Something from the Nightside by Simon R. Green
  22. A Graphic Novel: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  23. A Book That is Published in 2016: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  24. A Book With a Protagonist That Has Your Occupation: Schooled by Anisha Lakhani
  25. A Book That Takes Place During the Summer: The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
  26. A Book AND Its Prequel: Warm Bodies and The New Hunger by Isaac Marion
  27. A Murder Mystery: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  28. A Book Written By A Comedian: Binge by Tyler Oakley
  29. A Dystopian Novel: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  30. A Book With A Blue Cover: Challenger Deep by Neil Shusterman
  31. A Book of Poetry: Pop Sonnets: Shakespearean Spins on Your Favorite Songs by Erik Didriksen
  32. The First Book You See in a Bookstore: Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
  33. A Classic from the 20th Century: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  34. A Book From the Library: (all but one or two of these books will qualify in this category…)
  35. An Autobiography: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
  36. A Book About A Road Trip: The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
  37. A Book About a Culture You’re Unfamiliar With:¬†I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
  38. A Satirical Book: Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart
  39. A Book That Takes Place on an Island: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  40. A Book That’s Guaranteed to Bring You Joy:¬†Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Some of these categories are easier to fill that other. ¬†For example I chose a book with a teacher as a protagonist for the “Book With a Protagonist That Has Your Occupation” which was difficult as it was..but I’m actually a teacher¬†aide and there are apparently no books with a teacher aide protagonist. ¬†The challenge is going to be the bookstore one because I NEVER go to bookstores (my bank account loves my library card). ¬†I’ll have to make a point to go to one.

Are you going to take the challenge with me?  Let me know in the comments and link me to your Challenge List if you have one!

 

 

Leave a Reply

